## <u>A RESOLUTION APPOINTING MEMBERS OF THE CHARTER COMMISSION OF</u> <u>THE CITY OF DUNWOODY AND RECOGNIZING ITS APPOINTED MEMBERS</u>

- WHEREAS, the City of Dunwoody (the "City") is a municipality created by the 2008 Georgia General Assembly pursuant to Ga. L. 2008, p. 3526 and the Mayor and City Council of Dunwoody (the "Mayor and City Council") is the duly elected governing authority for the City; and
- WHEREAS, section 6.05 of the Charter for the City of Dunwoody (the "City Charter") authorizes the Mayor and City Council of the City to create a Charter Commission (the "Commission") to review the City's experience and recommend to the General Assembly any changes to the City Charter; and
- **WHEREAS,** section 6.05 of the City Charter states the Commission must complete its review and recommendations within a timeframe set by the Mayor and City Council; and
- **WHEREAS,** section 6.05 of the City Charter specifies the members of the Commission must all reside within the City of Dunwoody and membership is to include one appointment from the Mayor, one from the City Council, and one from each member of the Georgia House of Representatives or Senate whose district lies wholly or partially within the corporate boundaries of the City; and
- **WHEREAS,** Senator Sally Harrell, whose Georgia Senate district includes the City of Dunwoody, has appointed Amy Swygert to the Commission; and
- **WHEREAS,** Representative Michael Wilensky, whose Georgia House of Representatives district includes the City of Dunwoody, has appointed Marian Avise to the Commission; and
- **WHEREAS,** Representative Matt Wilson, whose Georgia House of Representatives district includes the City of Dunwoody, has appointed Anne Hicks to the Commission; and
- **WHEREAS,** the City Council of the City of Dunwoody has appointed Robert Wittenstein to the Commission; and
- **WHEREAS,** the Mayor of the City of Dunwoody has appointed Wayne Radloff to the Commission; now

**THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED,** by the Mayor and Council for the City of Dunwoody that the City has created the Charter Commission for the City of Dunwoody and charges the Commission with completing a review of the City Charter no later than November 9, 2020.

**BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED** that the Mayor, by and with the advice and consent of the City Council and the members of the Georgia General Assembly whose district lie wholly or partially within the corporate boundaries of the City, hereby recognizes the following named persons as members of the Charter Commission:

| Wayne Radloff      | appointed by the Mayor        |
|--------------------|-------------------------------|
| Robert Wittenstein | appointed by the City Council |

**BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED** that the terms of office for each of the members of the Charter Commission shall run until such time that the Georgia General Assembly has duly considered their recommendations for change to the City Charter or December 31, 2020, whichever is first.

**SO RESOLVED AND EFFECTIVE**, this <u>13<sup>th</sup></u> day of <u>July, 2020</u>.

Approved:

Attest:

Lynn P. Deutsch, Mayor

Sharon Lowery, City Clerk (SEAL)

Amy Swygert.....appointed by Senator Harrell Marian Avise.....appointed by Representative Wilensky Anne Hicks ......appointed by Representative Wilson