CITY OF DUNWOODY March 9, 2023 SUSTAINABILITY COMMITTEE MINUTES

The Sustainability Committee of the City of Dunwoody held a meeting on March 9, 2023 at 8 AM. The meeting was held in the City of Dunwoody City Hall, Georgetown Room, 4800 Ashford Dunwoody Road, Dunwoody, Georgia 30338, and on Zoom. Present for the meeting were the following:

Voting Members:	Nathan Sparks, Chair Ron Davis, Committee Member Jason Metzger, Committee Member Debi Shendelman, Committee Member
Ex-Officio Members:	Avery Watts, High School Member
Also Present:	Richard McLeod, Community Development Director Allegra DeNooyer, Planner II Cheyenne Thompson, Planner

CALL TO ORDER

Nathan Sparks called the meeting to order.

REPORTS AND PRESENTATIONS

PUBLIC COMMENT- Public Comment allows the Committee the opportunity to listen to the public (3 minutes per speaker/30 minutes total).

Gayatri Chandra, 1021 Trailridge Lane, spoke about her new business and how it relates to sustainability.

CONSENT AGENDA

1. Approval of February 9, 2023 Minutes

Ron Davis moved to approve the minutes, Jason Metzger seconded, and the motion passed.

Passed: For: 4 (Davis, Metzger, Shendelman, and Sparks); Against: 0; Abstain: 0; Absent: 3 (Atalay, Griffin, and Pray).

DISCUSSION ITEMS

2. Committee Assessment of Staff 2023 Priorities and 2022 Progress

There was discussion around the public seeing the Sustainability Dashboard – how to put it on the website – and how to let the Committee know when it's been updated.

3. Plastic Film Recycling Pilot

Richard McLeod explained that the S.C. Johnson company has a pilot program for recycling plastic film that Dunwoody will participate in. He explained there is one challenge in determining who will be responsible for collecting the recycling. The committee discussed ideas for local groups that could collect. There was a discussion around the pros and cons of the plastic film recycling pilot.

BUSINESS ITEMS (ACTION ITEMS)

4. Sustainability Hero Review and Selection

There was a discussion around the organization nominations and individual nominations.

Ron Davis motioned to nominate Blooms of Dunwoody Alliance for the organization Sustainability Hero, Jason Metzger seconded, and the motion passed.

Passed: For: 3 (Davis, Metzger, Shendelman); Against: 1 (Sparks); Abstain: 0; Absent: 3 (Atalay, Griffin, and Pray).

Debi Shendelman motion to nominate Michael Cowan for the individual Sustainability Hero, Nathan Sparks seconded, motion passed.

Passed: For: 4 (Davis, Metzger, Shendelman, and Sparks); Against: 0; Abstain: 0; Absent: 3 (Atalay, Griffin, and Pray).

PUBLIC COMMENT- Public Comment allows the Committee the opportunity to listen to the public (3 minutes per speaker/30 minutes total).

COMMITTEE COMMENTS

Nathan Sparks spoke regarding a letter the committee is reviewing about improvements that can be made for resource efficiency and requested information about a permit.

Jason Metzger referenced his intention to step down from the committee and encouraged community members to submit an application to join.

ADJOURN

Nathan Sparks moved to adjourn, Jason Metzger seconded, the motion passed unanimously.

Passed: For: 4 (Davis, Metzger, Shendelman, and Sparks); Against: 0; Abstain: 0; Absent: 3 (Atalay, Griffin, and Pray).

Approved By: _____, Chair

Attest: _____, Secretary